Content-on-demand doesn’t work when I’m demanding the content before you’ve finished it. Damn.

So, I’m reading Mark Scott’s recent (June) address to the Australian Council Marketing Summit, as you do, and it occurs to me that I’m never going to be satisfied.

As the MD of the ABC, he’s got good cause to be happy with many of the advances the ABC have made in making their content available across a variety of platforms.  The thing is, I now want to be able to jump online as soon as the kids are in bed (at 8.00) and immediately stream Kerry O’Brien’s grilling of the politician of the day on the 7.30 report.  I don’t like waiting for it to be posted later.  I hate following conversations held in facebook groups commenting on the show, and not being able to participate RIGHT NOW!  And I want to comment under the transcript when it appears.  Not on the off-site letters page.

Obviously, I’m spoilt.  I’m old enough that I paid for my own internet connection in the early-ish days of 1993, and marveled at the content available.  I also remember when cookies were reviled throughout the geek universe.  Back then, of course, after you milked the cows and chopped enough firewood to fuel the Aga for the day’s cooking and to run your steam-powered 386 PC, you had compelling reasons to create your own content.  Namely, there wasn’t that much.  These days, that’s not a valid reason for creating content.  But I digress.

I’ve been trained to expect content-on-demand.  So I do.  I’m as impatient as a 19 year old fuming while waiting for stock of the new iPhone to hit the shelves.  Reading through some facebook pages (and particularly some of the ‘worst of facebook’ posts on NSFW sites like lamebook and failbook), it’s pretty obvious that people are too impatient to even review what they’ve written before stabbing at the ‘post’ button.  I shouldn’t really complain that the ABC are a bit more careful.

I do think that they’ve gone a bit too far, though.  The ABC pages I’ve seen on Facebook – eg, the ABC Radio Melbourne 774 page – has posting disabled.  If you’re a fan, you can comment on their posts – but you can’t create your own.  Why?  I don’t know.  Moderation is the obvious initial answer – but they can’t stop a comment appearing any more than they can a post.  And they can delete either.  Perhaps I’m missing something.

That’s not what Mark was talking about at all, of course.  He’s chuffed – and with some justification, I suppose – that the ABC are the bastion of ozculture, and are embracing new technologies in distributing said culture.  I’m glad to see shows like Art Nation and First Tuesday Book Club becoming available through ‘parallel social networks’, as Mark charmingly puts it.  We’ll always need more of the yartz down under.

About timimus

I'm a Media student at La Trobe University, Melbourne. Just that, and little more.
This entry was posted in ABC, FaceBook. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Content-on-demand doesn’t work when I’m demanding the content before you’ve finished it. Damn.

  1. Natasha says:

    Wow!
    This is an amazing post! Very well written, I now feel ashamed of mine.
    Look forward to reading more from you.

    • timimus says:

      Thanks very, very much, Natasha. Yours is nothing to be ashamed of, of course – and it looks fantastic. I’ll be focusing only on the text here, as graphics aren’t exactly a strength of mine. 🙂

      I look forward to reading more of yours, and of the others in the class. I predict that we’ll all learn quite a bit from each other.

Leave a Reply

